December 3rd 2022

Michaelsoft Binbows

On May 16th 2021 in a video uploaded by the Youtuber 'Nick Robinson' he said something that has lived rent free in my head ever since, and I guess that has sort of lead to this point of me making this post for my own website. The part of the video that has stayed with me for so long is around the 29:55 minute mark. In short he says if there's something that interests you put it out there on the internet because you never know who might see it, enjoy it and learn from it. Although he said it better and if you are reading this and haven't seen the video please go and do it because you won't regret it.

In this video he talks about a cool Japanese website that has been maintained for over 30 years by a single person, just sharing the things that he likes with whoever stumbles across his website and that's something that is so appealing to me. There is something special about sharing content on your own platform away from sites like Twitter and Instragram, these social media sites have millions of users but most of the time it feels like you are shouting in to a void. I probably am still shouting in to a void here but it still feels different, I have the control to do what I want (to my ability) and the community on neocities feels more tightknit.

So yeah that was a big influence on me to create this website. If you do stumble across this then please watch the video and also check out Alf's Room (the Japanese website mentioned in the video).